It’s Been A While

Remember when I said waking up at 6 every morning was not an achievable goal for me?

I don’t know exactly when it happened, but after nearly 3 months of setting my alarm for 6 AM Sunday through Friday, I consistently wake up 10 to 15 minutes before my alarm regardless of when I went to sleep the night before.

This is a major win!

I’ve had other wins in the last three months:

  • I participated in my third ever aerial circus showcase, and did worlds better than the previous two times.
  • I marched in a Pride parade for the first time.
  • I completed my first major project at my new job, and tomorrow afternoon I will get to see the results of that work.

If this is what I was able to accomplish while I wasn’t paying attention, how much more will I be able to accomplish once I’m paying attention again?

I want to know the answer to that question, and so I present to you my newest plan:

7-Day Challenges

I have a very long list of habits I think I want to build, and a very high failure rate at building them. I start with 3 habits, and by the end of the first week I have 21 habits I’m trying to build all at the same time. This, of course, is not sustainable.

I would like to focus on one habit at a time. And I would like to know fairly quickly if a habit just isn’t going to happen. I figure if I can’t do a thing for seven consecutive days, I’m not going to do it long-term.

So: 7-day challenges.

I have a list of habits I would like to build, and I will dedicate seven consecutive days to each of them in turn. If I like a habit I may try to keep doing it for longer, but I’m not going to get frustrated with myself if a potential habit just isn’t meant to be. After day 7, I will move on to something else–no looking back.

That’s the plan, at least.

I’ll make a post at some point with the entire list of habits I would like to build. As for tomorrow, however, and the six days that follow, I will be making my bed each morning.

Leave a Reply

